The Stages of Disruption

Disruption is described as a disturbance or problems that interrupt an event, activity or process. However, disruption could also be described as part of the problem-solving process. Steven Sinofsky broke down the four levels of disruption:

The Stages of Disruption

Phase One: Disruption of Incumbent
When a new product, service or technology becomes available, a moment of disruption occurs. Be aware that denial may be part of this stage as disruption often means using inferior and more expensive technologies. Sinofsky’s advice is to search for evidence to back your disruption.

Phase Two: Rapid Linear Evolution
Once that new product, service or technology begins rapid adoption, it’s time to focus on “filling out” the product. During this phase, the disruptors continue to follow their vision and continue to innovate.

Phase Three: Appealing Convergence
Sinofsky describes this phase as the point when the new product starts to undergo a subtle redefinition. The early adopters described in phase two are now a maturing group and develop a sense of stability.

Phase Four: Complete Reimagination
The last stage of disruption occurs when the technology is reimagined from the ground up. It may seem like just another disruption, but remember, it is a unique stage because of responses from the legacy incumbent and disruptor.

Do you think these four stages cover the process of disruption?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s